Jan 21, 2010

By: hande

Jan 21 2010

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

5 Comments

Aperture:f/4
Focal Length:26mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/125 sec
Camera:NIKON D80

“For the curious” – Passetto

Remember the two Japanese tourists who paid €700 for lunch (“only pasta and wine!”) in Rome? The restaurant was closed afterwards and has re-opened after some re-styling. Now they have this sign on the door explaining what the two ate. Seeing me take a picture, the owner came out and started telling me that “the people need to know” and explaining his costs etc.

5 comments on “Jan 21, 2010”

  1. How, in the name of all that’s holy, did two Japanese, who are not as a rule known as heavy eaters, *each* eat three antipasti (which I assume the porcini, the scampi and the oysters were), a pasta (each made with 2 kg of raw lobster), a fish secondo of 1.5 kg each, a fruit compote – plus an additional shared gelato? Not to mention two beers and 1.5 bottles of wine?

    I for one am not at all convinced by the owner’s “explanation”.

  2. Welcome Zerlina! Nice to see you here.
    Though I think the calculation means the 2k aragosta and the 1,5k fish to be the end result of the 2 portions they had (I didn’t calculate with a calculator but added up quickly in my mind the euros), still I think you are right: I also can’t imagine 2 Japanese people eating this much food! Honestly, I can’t even see myself (a self declared glutton!) eating this much!

  3. it’s a robbery!!!. Only in ROME!!!

  4. How hilarious! Thanks for posting.


Leave a Reply

